Ankara University Water Management Institute (ENSTİTÜSU) was established on 01.02.2010 in order to offer new perspectives and suggestions to water-related problems in our country and around the world. ENSTİTÜSU is one of the few new established institutes related to water in our country (Water Management Institute brochure).

Prof. Dr. Turhan AKÜZÜM, who was the Head of Department of Farm Structures and Irrigation of Ankara University was assigned as the Founder Director of Water Management Institute; he worked until 02.01.2013 and then he retired. During this period, Prof. Dr. Süleyman KODAL (Department of Farm Structures and Irrigation) followed by Assist. Prof. Dr. Gökşen ÇAPAR (Water Management Institute) acted as Deputy Director of the Institute. The Institute Administrative Board was established in this period, whose members were Prof. Dr. Turhan AKÜZÜM (Institute Director), Prof. Dr. Süleyman KODAL (Deputy Director), Prof. Dr. Mehmet ÇELİK (Department of Geological Engineering) and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tayfun ÇINAR (Department of Political Science and Public Administration).

Prof. Dr. Süleyman KODAL was appointed Director of the Institute on 05.02.2013. Assoc. Prof. Dr. Gökşen ÇAPAR acts as the Deputy Director of the Institute. Prof. Dr. Ahmet ÖZTÜRK acted as Director from 05.02.2016 to 23.03.2016. Currently Assoc. Prof. Dr. Gökşen ÇAPAR is the Director of the Institute.

In Water Management Institute, four projects have been completed in total; three of them were funded via international grants. Currently two projects are being implemented. ENSTITUSU  has performed a leading role in development of new graduate programs. Interdisciplinary “Water Policy and Security Department” was established within the Graduate School of Social Sciences, and “Integrated Water Management Department has established within the Graduate School of Natural and Applied Sciences.

akuzum1-242x300                 skodal1

Prof. Dr. Turhan AKÜZÜM                                          Prof. Dr. Süleyman KODAL

Founder Director                                                            Director

(March 2010-February 2013)                                      (February 2013- February 2016)


Prof. Dr. Ahmet ÖZTÜRK


(February 2016- March2016)

müdür v._gökşen çapar

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Gökşen ÇAPAR


(November 2016 – …… )


Earlier Institute Administrative Board Members:

Prof. Dr. Taner TOĞRUL (February 2011- July 2013)

Department of Chemical Engineering 


Prof. Dr. Tayfun ÇINAR (February 2011- March 2016)

Department of Political Science and Public Administration


Prof. Dr. Y. Ersoy YILDIRIM (Kasım 2013- Kasım 2016)

Department of Farm Structures and Irrigation



Prof. Dr. Mehmet ÇELİK

Department of Geological Engineering

Phone: +90 312 203 3372



Worked Academic Staff  in the Institute Before:

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Boğaçhan BENLİ ( November 2010- February 2017)

Water Management Institute Member